Can I give private recognition?

No, once a recognition is sent, the privacy controls are in the hand of the recipient.

Ultimately, the privacy of recognitions is in the control of the recipient, not the giver, of the recognition. If a user you give recognition to has their Recognition Content Control toggled on, the recognitions they receive will be private until they say thanks.