How do I host a Preciate Social?

Host a Preciate Social by creating your Room, inviting people to attend, and attending the yourself.

Anyone can create a Room in Preciate Social. Just navigate to the main Social page on Preciate's web app, or use the /social command in our Slack Integration.

If you would like to host an unlimited Social for more than 40 minutes, for up to 50 participants, and guest access sign up for one of our premium Social plans, or contact sales to learn more.

Creating the Social

Start out by clicking "Create a Room" on the social home page.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.12.47 PM

You can start the Social right away by clicking "Create A Room", or click "Edit Room Settings" to change the background, Social name, music playlist, and desired join settings.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.14.21 PM

Screen Shot 2021-05-10 at 5-05-40 PM-png

After editing your Room settings, you can either enter the Room immediately or save it for later by clicking "Save to Your Rooms". You can then view, edit, share the link, and start your saved Social from the Upcoming Socials Section on the Social Home page.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.19.02 PM

Inviting People to the Room

You can invite people to your Preciate Social Room before or during the event. Either way, the method for inviting people is simple: copy the link and share it in whatever ways you want. Some people may choose to email the link to their invitees, and others may decide to paste it in their Google/Microsoft Calendar invitation. 

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.14.21 PM-1

Keep in mind that the join settings you determined while creating the Room will affect who will be able to actually join. You can send anyone the link, but only those who have permission can enter.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.24.35 PM

As a host, you can also choose to allow access to guest users who do not have a Preciate account by toggling the 'Allow Join Before Host' button to the right prior to starting the Social. 

Screen Shot 2021-02-15 at 3.32.33 PM-1

Participant Permissions

When Creating a Room for Preciate Social, Click into the Advanced Settings Tab on the bottom

Screen Shot 2021-05-10 at 5-05-40 PM-png

This will take you to our Advanced Settings Page, where you can select all General Settings, such as Room Name and Background, Join Settings, and Participant Permissions. 

Screen Shot 2021-05-10 at 5.06.16 PM

By Clicking on Participant Permissions, you can see the features you can disable or enable as a Host

As the Host, you will always have access to the full list of features and permissions, but you can designate which features are available to your participants.

Starting the Social

If you saved to your Rooms instead of starting it immediately after making it, then when the Social is scheduled to start, click on the link (if you have it saved in a calendar event) or navigate back to the main Social page on Preciate's web app, and click the "Create a Room" button next to your event.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.31.07 PM

This will send you into the waiting room. Once you have your audio and video set, click "Open Room." Then, the people you have invited will be able to enter the Room as well. 

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 3.44.34 PM

Leaving the Room

As the host, you have two options when you go to leave the Room. If the event is over, and you would like to close out the room, then you can go ahead and "Close the Room For All". Alternatively, you can leave the Room open for the remaining attendees to enjoy after you leave by clicking "Leave Room".

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 4.33.09 PM

Hosting Multiple Rooms

At the moment, you cannot create Rooms with more than 50 participants. You can, however, create multiple simultaneous Rooms. 

The Rooms will automatically close after 1 minute if there is no one in them, however, so we suggest designating different people to stay in each Social Room until the end of the event.

Also, if you are hosting multiple Rooms at once, make sure to tell participants that they should leave one Room before entering another one. No participant should be in two Rooms at once-- in the same way that you can't be in two rooms at once in real life.

If a Room is created and there is no one in it, it will automatically be closed and the event will end.