Preciate provides companies with controls to prevent recognition content from being viewed by anyone outside their company/organization.
Privacy is something that we take very seriously. We also understand that having a peer to peer recognition platform that allows individual users to recognize people outside of their company and Portraits that showcase recognitions can make you a little uneasy. That's why we've built controls for companies to ensure that your content remains within the company unless you explicitly decide otherwise.
Preciate's privacy controls keep all company recognition content internal to company users even if users add connections that are outside the company or make their personal Portraits public.
To understand how Preciate's privacy controls work, it's first important to learn the areas where recognition content will show up. When User A gives recognition to User B, the recognition content can appear in the following places:
- In the Activity Feed of company users and connections
- In the Company's Portrait
- In User A's Portrait
- In User B's Portrait
- In Email notifications (weekly network activity email)
Preciate provides two controls for companies that completely address each of these areas.
1. Make Company Portrait Private
This control addresses the Company Portrait and makes it private. If anyone who does not belong to the company or is not a member of Preciate navigates to the Company Portrait web page, they will be blocked from seeing any recognition content.
This control is found in the Admin Portrait Page.
When this control is disabled, the Company Portrait is public to anyone in or outside of Preciate.
When this control is enabled, the Company Portrait is visible to members in the company, but it is blocked for anyone outside the company.
Preciate Portraits are powerful tools for showcasing your company's culture. As with anything powerful, they need to be handled with thoughtful intention. We recommend that Company Portraits remain private until you feel comfortable. Coming later this year will be new functionality to allow you to curate your Company Portrait with recognition content and publish static pages.
2. Keep All Company Content Private
This control addresses the remaining areas where recognition content can appear. When enabled, recognitions involving a member of the company will only be visible to members of the company. This means that if an individual user chooses to make his/her personal Portrait public, company recognitions (in this case any recognition involving the user since the user is part of the company) will not appear on his/her Portrait for anyone outside of the company. Co-workers can still see recognitions on the Portrait, but others cannot. This also means that if a user has added a connection and that connection does not belong in the same company then any company recognitions will not appear in the connection's activity feed nor will any company recognitions appear in the weekly network activity email.
Currently, this control is activated by Preciate's implementation lead upon request, but will be added to the Admin Portal.
When a user has disabled the user control Make Portrait Private but the company has enabled Keep All Company Content Private, his/her Portrait would appear empty to non-company users viewing it.
If a user gives a recognition to someone outside of the company and this control is enabled, the recognition will be visible to the recipient but not to anyone else within the recipient's connections.
These controls cannot and do not prevent company recognitions from being seen by people outside the company in the following situations:
- A company user takes a screenshot of a recognition and shares it with someone else.
- A company user gives a recognition using Slack or Microsoft Teams and posts the recognition into a channel, team, or chat where non-company members are present.
- Any situation where a company member makes a decision to circumvent the controls and deliberately share a company recognition with someone else.