What is a convo, and how do I start a convo in a Preciate Room?

While in a Room, you can create an ice breaker or a personalized conversation starter and display it to the entire room at once by clicking the "Start a Convo" button.

One of the unique features of Preciate is the ability to introduce and display a conversation-starter to the entire Room. Use this feature to lead your team's brainstorms, to provoke thoughtful discussions, or to start off your event with a fun ice breaker!

Anyone in the Room can start a convo, and the host can end anyone's convo at any time.

A convo has three parts: choosing/creating the convo prompt, introducing the convo prompt (here's where you can giving any necessary instructions, like "break up in groups of three and discuss the following prompt"), and displaying the convo to the group for the discussion portion of the convo. To learn the specifics of how to start and end a convo, keep reading below.

Starting a Convo

To start a convo, click the "Start a Convo" button in the Options Menu.

When you click the button, select a category for your convo. You can select from one of our out-of-the-box convos or create your own.

If you select one of our out-of-the-box convo categories, use the right and left arrows on your screen to browse through your options. Once you've chosen your convo, click "Start Convo".

If you decided to create your own convo, select "Create your own Convo" from the category dropdown, and type in your convo in the are below. Then click "Start Convo".

Introducing Your Convo

Once you click "Start a Convo", your bubble will be displayed in the top right corner of everyone's screens until you click "START". At this point, you can introduce your convo, and give the group any necessary instructions (i.e. "break up into groups of four and discuss your thoughts on the following topic"). The stage of the convo is similar to the toast feature in the sense that everyone's volume is lowered in order to focus everyone's attention on the person introducing the topic of conversation.

 

Starting the Discussion

Once you click "START", your bubble will disappear from the top right of everyone's screens, and everyone will be able to see the convo at the top of their screen, until you (the person who created the convo) or the host ends the convo by clicking "END CONVO".

While the convo is still going, participants can hide or show the convo, depending on whether they want to be able to read the convo, or whether they prefer more visibility.